Skip to content

Public Comment Marcellus Shale Advisory Commission’s meeting in Harrisburg 4/27/11 from Jessica Kurland Buckland

May 3, 2011

Jessica Kurland Buckland outside the Rachel Carson Building in Harrisburg PA for the Marcellus Shale Commission meeting protest April 27, 2011

Complete public comment by Jessica Kurland Buckland:

“I might cry while I read this statement. Lest you think these tears are those of a hysterical woman, know that they are sadness, fear, and anger. They are tears of anger. I am here before I am directly affected. I am here for me and all Pennsylvanians. I am a mother, a mountainbiker, a Pennsylvanian, and constituent. I live in Centre County, Pine Grove Mills, about 90 miles away. You in the industry have no right to invade and pollute our state and our land. Your blatant disregard for our rights is unAmerican. You lie, manipulate, destroy in the name of progress. You buy politicians and favors. I do not have that kind of clout or money. But I DO have something that you do not: fierce love for my state and land. This means that I actually have more invested in this land than you. This means I am actually more powerful than you…and there are many others like me. I will not be ignored. WE WILL NOT BE IGNORED. We will not let you destroy our land. We do not believe your lies. I demand accountability, transparency. And I demand that my representatives, my government and my commission represent my views–our views–, my tax dollars, and my love for our land. And I demand that you start with a moratorium on drilling.”

5 Comments
  1. Celeen Miller permalink
    May 3, 2011 8:28 am

    Jessica, you are in good company! Everyone from around the state please join together in Harrisburg on Tuesday June 7th. Capitol steps from 10-2pm. Josh Fox (Gasland) will be there too! We are arranging transportation. Call me at 800-200-2229 for bus locations and details.

  2. Ginnie Preston permalink
    May 3, 2011 8:47 am

    Thank you, Jessica! Sadly, we couldn’t stay till the end … We missed hearing your comment, and so many other powerful voices. Thank you for your passion and sincerity. The heartfelt comments are needed just as much as the fact-filled ones, to send a message of strength and conviction to the thieves and liars that make up the Gas Drilling Industry, that we aren’t going to let them ruin our beautiful state, our pristine water, or the health of our families!
    We must keep the pressure on, and get everyone involved in these demonstrations of true democracy at work!
    Thank you!

  3. Ginnie Preston permalink
    May 3, 2011 8:48 am

    Thank you, Jessica! Sadly, we couldn’t stay till the end … We missed hearing your comment, and so many other powerful voices. Thank you for your passion and sincerity. The heartfelt comments are needed just as much as the fact-filled ones, to send a message of strength and conviction to the Gas Drilling Industry, that we aren’t going to let them ruin our beautiful state, our pristine water, or the health of our families!
    We must keep the pressure on, and get everyone involved in these demonstrations of true democracy at work!
    Thank you!

  4. Jessica Buckland permalink
    May 3, 2011 9:10 am

    Thanks for the support. I’m trying to round people up for June 7th. That Josh Fox will be there is a good selling point.

    • Celeen Miller permalink
      May 3, 2011 10:35 am

      Great! email me and we can stay coordinated.

Comments are closed.

