Skip to content

U.S Forest Service, to Protect Allegheny National Forest, tells Shell: Bring Your Own Fracking Water

July 23, 2011
With the energetic headline, “Groundwater fight triggers Marcellus fight in national forest,” Lisa Thompson of the Erie Times-News explains that a Shell Oil Company affiliate was the first to hear the news about the U.S. Forest Service’s position on fracking.
Today’s natural gas hunters are welcome to drill down and inject millions of gallons of water and sand to fracture, or, “frack,” wells in the deep, natural gas-laden Marcellus Shale on that same public land — but they are going to have to bring their own water with them.

That is the stance the U.S. Forest Service has struck as the lucrative Marcellus Shale drilling wave spreads across the state and into the historic gas and oil fields of the vast Allegheny National Forest, which sprawls across a large swath of northwestern Pennsylvania.

Read the full story here.

3 Comments
  1. July 26, 2011 1:53 am

    How was The BIG UnEasy in West Philly last Friday? #crawfish got SouL this and every Wednesday on 88.1fm WPEB – West Philly community radio, Noon – 12:30p …hope it went well…shouted it out – on-air!

  2. VAUBOURG ERIC permalink
    July 26, 2011 11:57 am

    Hello,

    I am French from Paris. In France we also fight against the fracking.

    I am really surprise to read in this article ” they are going to have to bring their own water with them” . how oil lobby could bring there own water. The water is for all of us. And if I said this water is my water, I think someone could tell me “is not mine”.

    Obviously, oil lobbies could have there own water.

    Eric

  3. October 31, 2012 11:45 pm

    I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s equally educative and interesting, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something that too few men and women are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy I stumbled across this in my hunt for something regarding this.

Comments are closed.